Moms Gotta Cook, Kids Gotta Eat

A 16-year-old and a 16-month-old. That’s what I’m working with here. That means picky taste buds x about 1.5, which is why I was so happy to stumble upon a recipe (courtesy of my big sis) that made the whole household happy. That includes my near-vegetarian toddler, Mini Mo.

I first had the chicken/broccoli casserole at my big sis’s house over Labor Day weekend 2012. She had a pretty nice crowd at her house for the weekend in honor of her niece and nephew’s joint 1st birthday party. (Mini Mo and her cousin Gabe were born 3 weeks and 2  days apart!) The casserole we had the next day, then, was perfect for the group and pretty darn tasty to boot.

A combination of cut-up chicken and broccoli mixed with cream of chicken soup, topped with a layer of shredded cheddar and another layer of Ritz cracker crumbles, this dish is hearty and yummy. It’s simple to make, but it’s not to be done without solid planning ahead. You’ll find the recipe here in the Recipes We Love section.

After getting the verbal instructions from big sis that weekend, I attempted it at home. While the result was tasty, it was a bit too liquidy. I got it right the next time, though, and every time since–after a phone call here and a text message there to big sis. The important thing is that my picky eaters will eat it, which just warms me up inside. The first time Mini Mo finished her bowl and asked for more (or “moy” in Mini Mo-speak) made me about fall over with excitement.

This is one meal I know that will not go to waste and will not be picked over. PLUS, my finicky kids will get veggies and protein in one bite. It’s gotten to the point where I make this every other week now, and I’m perfectly fine with that. 🙂

~Mo

2 thoughts on “Moms Gotta Cook, Kids Gotta Eat

Leave a Reply

